Unfortunately, the lack of parking and the management response out weighs the positive attributes of this community. They started with unassigned parking, inconvenient if you came home late evening, but a spot was always available. Then the management decided to assign spots.If you only have one car per apartment, this might work for you. If you have 2 cars, the first car can park in the assigned space. Because there is only a handful of visitor spots, you will have to park illegally in one of the Adjacent shopping centers and walk home. This is frustrating because there are tons of unused numbered parking spaces. If you want to have a visitor, they will not be able to park. Management is threatening towing if you park in one of these unoccupied numbered spaces. Management is rude, inconsiderate and unwilling to investigate how they screwed up and made the situation worse.
Absolutely do not rent here. The apartments are very nice and maintenance is prompt and friendly, but parking is a nightmare!!! The parking problem is so bad that it absolutely negates all of the positive things about living here. This approx. 500 unit complex with 1, 2, & 3 bed apts assigned only 1 parking space per unit! Apparently, after all spaces were assigned only about 35 unassigned spots were left. So just assume that approx. 250 of the 500 units are two car homes, with the current policy in place those 250 cars now compete for only 35 parking spots! In this day and age, that half of the complex has 2 car homes is probably a huge underestimate! So imagine you have small kids and come in late with bags/groceries and after driving around 30 mins looking for a spot you are lucky enough to find one. You now have a dangerous trek across this huge complex to get to your apartment. So basically if you want to be held hostage to your "nice" apartment for fear of losing your parking space, then by all means move here. It sucks that you are now tied into a lease of an apt, but you can't park there!!!
First; Parking Sucks. We were told "you can have 2 vehicles and park inside your very expensive gated community". Well thats a challenge every night i come home. Management sent out e-mail saying How excited they where about the new parking solution and how they were going to fix it.Well that was a BIG fat FAIL !!!!!!!!!! For one I have a 3 Bedroom apt. and they give you 1 parking space ??? And in the e-mail they say for those of you who have 2 cars there will be unmarked spaces for you to park in. Yeah there is 9 that are even close to my apt. and good luck getting one of them. Second every apt. gets a parking space assigned to it., but someone who has a garage Must park in their garage or in front of it. So that leaves an empty space in the lot. Right. So when i have to park over at the Giant (Freaking JOKE) There is an empty space in the lot.Parking was already a joke , now even Worse!!!! Bottom line, they took a piece of land put too many buildings on it and not enough parking and are charging TOP dollar. ChaChing !!! Someone needs to get thier head out of thier ass and figure something out... You built it , now you fix it..
I wish I could focus more on the positives that this community has to offer (such as the new apartments, or the amenities), but I can't get past the horrible parking situation and treatment of tenants. When we moved in this past January, we had read a handful of mixed reviews about the Atley; more often than not, the biggest complaint was parking. With these unflattering reviews in mind, we made a point to ask about the parking situation when we were looking into leasing (as both my husband and I have one car each). We were told with confidence from the agent that we both could have up to two cars each for available parking within the gates of the complex. Satisfied with that response, and thoroughly assured we wouldn't have any problems finding parking, we proceeded to sign our lease (which is important to note, they ONLY offer 14-16 month leases, nothing less). At first, parking really wasn't a huge issue. There weren't many open spaces, but we were never too too far away from our apartment. Once or twice, my husband had to park on the other side of the complex. A month of so ago they decided to try parking decals to cut down on non-residence parking within the gates, which seemed to help open some spaces up. Most recently, though, under the new manager Donna, it has been decided to assigns parking spots. More specifically, only ONE spot per apartment, not per resident. There are 390 numbered spots, with only about 40 spots left open for the rest of the renters. After two days of this new policy, my husband has had to park on the outside of the complex both nights. When he brought his concerns up to the manager, Donna Phillips, she shrugged and suggested he try parking either across the 4 lane highway, or he could try his luck at the supermarket across Waxpool. She even had the audacity to mock him when he mentioned one of the reasons we decided to lease with Atley was because we were told we would have no trouble having both of our cars within the complex. And on another note, they are constantly changing their lease terms through vague wording and simply brow beating tenants into compliance over trivial things, such as patio lights. Overall, very disappointed. Had we known it would be this bad, we would have leased elsewhere. Good luck if you decided to lease here, you're going to need it.
Looks can be deceiving. This place is all about putting on a pretty face, but they fall short in just about every other area. The attractive facade of this two-year-old apartment complex is quickly fading away as both maintenance and residents alike do their best to usher the grounds into a state of disrepair. Management is a complete joke, poorly picking and choosing their battles in regards to what they would like to address and enforce. Don't even get me started on the parking situation. Be made aware that, as of management's most recent feeble attempt at managing this debacle, each apartment is given one parking space. That's it. Regardless of the number of bedrooms or the number of people on the lease, you will have one. Only one sticker is provided to designate who gets the spot (you do not get to choose who parks on a need-to-use basis without shuffling around stickers). I often times find myself parking in the Giant parking lot across the street and dashing on foot across Ashburn Village BLVD in hopes that I'll make it to my car alive in the morning, simultaneously wondering if I will find it has been justifiably towed by Giant management. For a place that charges roughly $500 up front per pet and $40 monthly per pet, this place is surprisingly not pet friendly. I'm still seeing new "no dogs allowed" signs popping up in different areas of the property. It is apparently greatly encouraged to shell over hundreds of dollars over to them just to have a pet, but not encouraged to actually walk your pet and allow them to continue existing after payment has been submitted. Gym equipment has been broken for months, street lamps have laid fallen on the ground with exposed wires for months, and the landscaping crew loves to leave mud and mulch strewn about the walkways. Packages are frequently stolen from people's apartment doorways to the point where many of us have taken to leaving notes taped to our doors to drop them off at the office. This place is brand new, but it is falling apart. Do. Not. Move. Here.